11.06.2018

$50 Blast Giveaway – Just a Name by Becky Monson

   
Just a Name by Becky Monson  

Holly has a plan for everything. But she never could have planned for this. If there’s one thing Holly Murphy loves, it’s a solid plan. She has her entire life figured out—or so she thinks. But when life pulls the rug out from under her, she’s left to deal with a canceled wedding—hers, to be precise. And the promotion she’s worked toward for years is now in jeopardy because the team she supervises doesn’t like her management style. Thinking that Holly is too tightly wound and needs a break from everything, her boss demands she take a vacation. But how can she take a vacation when her promotion is on the line? Trying to help out, her best friend, Quinn, suggests she still go on her honeymoon and conduct a nationwide search to find a man with the same name as her ex-fiancé to use his plane ticket. Leaving Holly to wonder if she’s the only sane person left on the planet. Yet when her boss gets wind of the idea and loves it, Holly finds herself in a corner she can’t get out of. And when handsome Nate Jones from Newport Beach gets picked to go with her, she wonders if this whole thing won’t be so bad after all. Can Holly learn to let go? Or will this crazy adventure send her running right back to her safety net?

Get your copy on Amazon

Praise for Just A Name “Just a Name is a delicious escape! I devoured every character, every moment, and every quirk and couldn’t get enough. This book is Becky Monson at her finest!” -Author Whitney Dineen “Becky Monson has outdone herself with Just a Name. It’s FANTASTIC! I’m still swooning.” -Author Jennifer Peel “Fans of romantic comedies should grab a copy of Just a Name; it has the perfect balance between sweet and sassy.”-Readers’ Favorite "Full of fun, swoon, and humor, all topped with unexpected twists. I thoroughly enjoyed my time in these pages!" -Katie's Clean Book Collection "I loved it. Becky Monson is so good at writing humor into her books. Sarcasm and wit reign supreme right along with a slow growing romance." - Aimee Brown from Getting Your Read On.


Excerpt 
  
I hate today.

Which doesn’t bode well, since it’s only eight thirty in the morning.
This is par for the course with my life right now, since the past three weeks haven’t particularly been my favorite either. Before that—which feels like ages ago—I was feeling like I was on the right path. Like everything I had planned for myself was happening. And I actually remember thinking, “Life can’t get any better.” Clearly, I jinxed myself.
Because my life is not on track. Not even close.
Lately, every morning I wake up with hopes that this will be the day when things will look up for me. The day my life will take a turn for the better and I’ll get myself back on track. Apparently, today is not that day.
Right now, I’m sitting in an air-conditioned office, holding a piece of paper in my hands, staring at the words in front of me and trying to make sense of it all. The top of the paper, in bold lettering, says, “CT Anderson Bank,” and underneath it, “Holly Murphy—Supervisor Assessment.”
Under that are a whole bunch of words I can’t believe I’m reading. Words like “too controlling” and “micromanaging” and “not a team player.” It’s all there, in Times New Roman, eleven-point type. Coincidentally, these are some of the words Nathan—my ex-fiancé—used when he called off our wedding nearly three weeks ago. He even used the words “not a team player”—whatever that’s supposed to mean. And this was all only a little over two months before we were to marry.
Way to kick me when I’m down, Life.


Author Becky Monson By day, Becky Monson is a mother to three young children, and a wife. By night, she escapes with reading books and writing. An award-winning author, Becky uses humor and true-life experiences to bring her characters to life. She loves all things chick-lit (movies, books, etc.), and wishes she had a British accent. She has recently given up Diet Coke for the fiftieth time and is hopeful this time will last... but it probably won't.  



Giveaway Details $50 Amazon Gift Code or $50 in Paypal Cash Ends 11/27/18 Open only to those who can legally enter, receive and use money sent via Paypal or gift codes via Amazon.com. Winning Entry will be verified prior to prize being awarded. No purchase necessary. You must be 18 or older to enter or have your parent enter for you. The winner will be chosen by rafflecopter and announced here as well as emailed and will have 48 hours to respond or a new winner will be chosen. This giveaway is in no way associated with Facebook, Twitter, Rafflecopter or any other entity unless otherwise specified. The number of eligible entries received determines the odds of winning. This giveaway was organized by Kathy from I Am A Reader and sponsored by the author. VOID WHERE PROHIBITED BY LAW. a Rafflecopter giveaway

10.29.2018

Review: Give The Dark My Love by Beth Revis

Give the Dark My Love by Beth Revis

  • Pub. Date: September 25, 2018
  • Publisher: Razorbill
  • Pages: 368
  • Series: Give the Dark My Love #1
  • Rating:3.5/5
  • Goodreads/Amazon 




When seventeen-year-old Nedra Brysstain leaves her home in the rural, northern territories of Lunar Island to attend the prestigious Yugen Academy, she has only one goal in mind: learn the trade of medicinal alchemy. A scholarship student matriculating with the children of Lunar Island's wealthiest and most powerful families, Nedra doesn't quite fit in with the other kids at Yugen, who all look down on her. 

All, except for Greggori "Grey" Astor. Grey is immediately taken by the brilliant and stubborn Nedra, who he notices is especially invested in her studies. And that's for a good reason: a deadly plague has been sweeping through the North, and it's making its way toward the cities. With her family's life--and the lives of all of Lunar Island's citizens--on the line, Nedra is determined to find a cure for the plague. 

Grey and Nedra continue to grow closer, but as the sickness spreads and the body count rises, Nedra becomes desperate to find a cure. Soon, she finds herself diving into alchemy's most dangerous corners--and when she turns to the most forbidden practice of all, necromancy, even Grey might not be able to pull her from the darkness. 


Review:  I can never get enough books having to do with necromancy, now that I think about it there aren't that many books I have come across that have to do with the subject matter so of course, I had to get my hands on Give the Dark My Love by Beth Revis.

I went into this novel expecting a fast-paced read from the very beginning and honestly, it wasn't. It was a slow build up the first half took me quite some time to get through, not that it wasn't interesting because it was but I didn't have the urge to flip the pages and read and read and read to my hearts content, I was able to put the book down, walk away and not have that urge to hurry up and pick it back up to see what happens next.  It wasn't until the second half of the novel where things picked up and my curiosity started flourishing. This also wasn't my first Beth Revis book and I know she is one hell of a writer so I stuck with it and as expected wasn't disappointed.

There are two points of views in Give the Dark My Love, Nedra and Grey and the whole time I could not understand why Grey's POV was important, I don't feel like he moved the story along in any way, we learned a little about the politics of the world through him but nothing that couldn't have been figured out through Nedra. I really did not find him interesting and could care less about his character. Is it wrong to say I hope Revis just totally gets rid of his character in the next book? And if romance is a must maybe bring someone in who is a lot more complex and multidimensional?

Now on to what I loved, Nedra is the definition of an Anti-Hero and I loved it. It is so refreshing to read novels with anti-heroes. Nedra started off with good intentions but things happened that drove her to take the most drastic of measures. I don't want to give spoilers on why but I was rooting for her throughout the whole novel. I found her life and her world intriguing which is what kept me reading the first half when things were slow.

The book gets dark, really dark, I would definitely put Give the Dark My Love in the horror genre especially the second half and I am so excited for the next book. Overall it started off slow, there were some things I didn't like but nothing that took away from my overall enjoyment of the book and I am looking forward to seeing what becomes of Nedra.


10.17.2018

Review: The Spellbook of Katrina Van Tassel: A Story of Sleepy Hollow by Alyssa Palmobo


The Spellbook of Katrina Van Tassel: A Story of Sleepy Hollow by Alyssa Palombo




When Ichabod Crane arrives in the spooky little village of Sleepy Hollow as the new schoolmaster, Katrina Van Tassel is instantly drawn to him. Through their shared love of books and music, they form a friendship that quickly develops into romance. Ichabod knows that as an itinerant schoolteacher of little social standing, he has nothing to offer the wealthy Katrina – unlike her childhood friend-turned-enemy, Brom Van Brunt, who is the suitor Katrina’s father favors.

But when romance gives way to passion, Ichabod and Katrina embark on a secret love affair, sneaking away into the woods after dark to be together – all while praying they do not catch sight of Sleepy Hollow’s legendary Headless Horseman. That is, until All Hallows’s Eve, when Ichabod suddenly disappears, leaving Katrina alone and in a perilous position.

Enlisting the help of her friend – and rumored witch – Charlotte Jansen, Katrina seeks the truth of Ichabod Crane’s disappearance, investigating the forest around Sleepy Hollow using unconventional – often magical – means. What they find forces Katrina to question everything she once knew, and to wonder if the Headless Horseman is perhaps more than just a story after all. In Alyssa Palombo's The Spellbook of Katrina Van Tassel nothing is as it seems, and love is a thing even death won't erase.


Review: I have always been enamored with The Legend of Sleepy Hollow and when The Spellbook of Katrina Van Tassel: A Story of Sleepy Hollow landed at my doorsteps I was thrilled. There was this dark seductive yet haunting vibe throughout the whole book and with the gloomy rainy weather we were having here in Seattle the mood was set just right for me to get into this novel.

The book grabbed my attention from page one when it started with "Washington Irving got it wrong." I was all in. I knew I had to know Katrina's side of the story what really went down and I was not disappointed. I feel Palombo gave Katrina's character depth something even the original classic never accomplished, we learn so much about Katrina and I really did love her through her struggles and heartbreaks and hard decisions, I loved her through and through.

Another character that surprisingly stood out to me in the novel was Charlotte, Katrina's dearest friend. Without Charlotte, I don't see how Katrina could have managed the whole ordeal with Ichabod.  I found Charlotte to be a quiet strength and a loyal friend I would have loved to see things from her perspective as well.

If you go into this novel expecting it to be heavy in the supernatural realm of things, it's not. It really is a story of Katrina and how she met Ichabod and what transpired between them with tidbits of the supernatural thrown in giving it the right amount of eeriness. 

Overall The Spellbook of Katrina Van Tassel: A Story of Sleepy Hollow couldn't be released at a better time with us being knee deep in Autumn now and Halloween upon us soon, I highly recommend it especially if you loved the original classic this is a great addition to your collection.

10.07.2018

$50 Blast Giveaway - Something About Forever by Kimberly Loth

                         
Something About Forever by Kimberly Loth 

Boys. They are bound to be the death of me. Especially one with blue eyes, perfectly Mormon cut hair, and probably the inspiration for the girl’s camp song "Hot Priest". Why the heck did he have to be the bishop’s son? Cause here’s the thing. While I’m Mormon, I don’t really belong. I mean, I want to, but I just can’t seem to keep on the straight and narrow. Seriously, look at me. I’m not even supposed to use the name Mormon anymore, but Latter-Day Saint is a mouthful. So I’m sticking to Mormon. Sorry, Prophet. The bishop knows my past. He knows my problems. There is no freaking way he’s going to let me date his son. Yet, Nate comes after me anyway. And I fall hard. But eventually….I will have to tell him about my past. And I know, he’ll run far, far away from me when I do.

Get it Now on Amazon


  Praise for Something About Forever: Something About Forever hit me directly in the feels. I haven’t read a book in a while that’s made me cry but this one got my tear ducts flowing. Lauren and Nate’s story is very reliable. I completely recommend this book if you haven’t read it yet! ~Brianna

While this book could have been preachy, it is far from it. Religion isn't forced on you, even though it plays a major role in the story. It is simply one part of what helps Lauren turn her life around. I liked the way Lauren struggled to overcome her past and forgive herself. It was realistic. This story is unlike any I've read by Kimberly Loth. She moved in an entirely new direction with her writing. The result is a story well worth reading. I really enjoyed it and am looking forward to the next book in the series. ~Donna

Being not so perfect either, this book resonated deeply within my soul. The power of forgiveness for yourself and in giving to others can change your life. What a masterfully told story of love, acceptance, and forgiveness that is appropriate for teenagers and adults alike. ~Alie

I'm not really someone who is big on books with religion, but I really loved this story... This is such a sweet and forgiving story that the entire time I read it I felt light-hearted and happy. I really enjoyed the adventure of Lauren and Nate. ~Ruby

A different genre than normal, I was totally enraptured by this tale. This author truly breathed life into these characters and captured the very essence of forgiveness and redemption. ~Patty

A heartbreaking love story. It was hard for me to get passed the specificity of religion but I feel it could fit into any Christian setting. It's a good story. Well written. I hope that you enjoy it too. ~Richard

This book draws you in from the beginning and keeps you enthralled in Lauren and Nate’s story. It’s a real tear-jerker, so make sure the tissues are handy when you read it. It has great characters that you soon become invested in and an emotional plot that keeps you turning the pages. ~Rabid

Add to your Goodreads Shelf
  
EXCERPT 

Introduction
Hi, yeah, it’s me, Lauren. I’m breaking the fourth wall. Nate would be appalled. He hates it when people do this in movies or TV shows. He won’t even watch Ferris Bueller’s Day Off with me for that very reason. He’s nuts, but cute, so you know, I guess it all works out in the end. Anyway, I wanted to let you in on a few things.
I have no idea why you’re here. Maybe you want to hear about my journey to find eternity. Maybe you want to know if I’ll ever speak to my dad again. Or maybe you want to know why my mother married a guy who smokes a pack a day. Or maybe you just think Nate is hot. It’s okay. I do too. (You did see Nate, right? He’s on the cover. If you missed him, or even if you didn’t, go look. Sigh. So hot.)
Now I’m all flustered. Nate does that to me.
Where was I? Oh yeah, why are you here? I bet it’s the music. I’m all famous on YouTube and you wanted to see how it all started. Snort. Yeah, that was not my fault.
Anyway, whatever your reason, I feel I must make a disclaimer. This is my story. I’m not terribly funny or clever, but I do have a lot of obscure thoughts, and I promise I will break this wall again cause there are things that must be explained.
I’m a Mormon, so if that bothers you, you might want to stop reading now. But maybe you’re curious. That brings me to my next disclaimer. I’m not a very good Mormon. So if you’ve come here expecting me to quote the prophet or recite scriptures, you’ve come to the wrong place. I mean, I don’t even go to seminary.
Let’s talk about that for a second. What teenager willingly gets up a whole hour earlier than they are supposed to every single day? Not only that, but go to a class that is basically just reading the scriptures. Talk about a snoozer. They must be insane. Certifiably—we did already establish that Nate was nuts—I can’t even stay awake during Sunday School. How do people do it every stinking day of the week? Sorry, not my thing.
I don’t remember what else I wanted to say to you. Au revoir. Enjoy my story. You’re going to be examining my every flaw and thought. I do find that rather creepy. Good thing I never have to see you again after it’s over.
Hugs and kisses. Just kidding. I’m so not a hugs and kisses kind of girl… unless you are Nate. Which you’re not, cause I would never let him read this.
I’m out.
Lauren

Author Kimberly Loth Kimberly Loth has lived all over the world. From the isolated woods of the Ozarks to exotic city of Cairo. Currently, she resides in Tucson, Arizona with her family including an old grumpy cat named Max. She’s been writing for ten years and is the author of the Amazon bestselling series The Dragon Kings. In her free time, she volunteers at church, reads, and travels as often as possible.
   
$50 Blast Giveaway Winner's choice of a $50 Amazon Gift Code or $50 in PayPal Cash Ends 10/29/18 
Open only to those who can legally enter, receive and use an Amazon.com Gift Code or Paypal Cash. Winning Entry will be verified prior to prize being awarded. No purchase necessary. You must be 18 or older to enter or have your parent enter for you. The winner will be chosen by rafflecopter and announced here as well as emailed and will have 48 hours to respond or a new winner will be chosen. This giveaway is in no way associated with Facebook, Twitter, Rafflecopter or any other entity unless otherwise specified. The number of eligible entries received determines the odds of winning.
 The giveaway was organized by Kathy from I Am A Reader and sponsored by the author. VOID WHERE PROHIBITED BY LAW. a Rafflecopter giveaway



9.25.2018

Review & Giveaway: Hot Winter Nights by Jill Shalvis

Hot Winter Nights by Jill Shalvis

  • Pub. Date: September 25, 2018
  • Publisher: HarperCollins Publisher
  • Pages: 384
  • Series: Heartbreaker Bay #6
  • Rating:4/5
  • Goodreads/Amazon
Who needs mistletoe? 

Most people wouldn't think of a bad Santa case as the perfect Christmas gift. Then again, Molly Malone, office manager at Hunt Investigations, isn't most people, and she could really use a distraction from the fantasies she's been having since spending the night with her very secret crush, Lucas Knight. Nothing happened, not that Lucas knows that — but Molly just wants to enjoy being a little naughty for once...


Whiskey and pain meds for almost-healed bullet wounds don't mix. Lucas needs to remember that next time he's shot on the job, which may be sooner rather than later if Molly's brother, Joe, finds out about them. Lucas can't believe he's drawing a blank on his (supposedly) passionate tryst with Molly, who's the hottest, smartest, strongest woman he's ever known. Strong enough to kick his butt if she discovers he's been assigned to babysit her on her first case. And hot enough to melt his cold heart this Christmas.


Review: Hot Winter Nights was my first Jill Shalvis book and boy was it a fun ride, it is the sixth book in the Heartbreaker Bay series but for someone who has not read the previous books, Hot Winter Nights can easily be read as a standalone since every book focuses on a new couple.

Going into the book I expected a Christmas romance and from the blurb I knew there would be some type of suspense but what I didn't anticipate was falling adorably in love with Molly and Lucas, these two made such an awesome pair and had me smiling ear to ear so many times not to mention I found myself laughing out loud at quite a few of their antics as well. Shalvis couldn't have written a better pair, the chemistry between the two was off the charts and they just gave me all sorts of feels.

I also really liked how Shalvis had two heavily flawed characters, both Molly and Lucas have their own baggage and scars to deal with, things that happened in the past that neither one of them have fully dealt with which prevents them from getting close to anyone. So it was interesting seeing the two grow and trust and eventually love again.

Overall I really enjoyed reading Hot Winter Nights it was a perfect blend of romance, suspense, and humor and I'm actually looking forward to the next book in the series and might even go back and read a few of the previous novels, I'm especially curious about Archer so definitely going to pick that one up.


About the author
Jill lives with her family in a small town in the Sierras full of quirky characters (Any resemblance to the quirky characters in her books is mostly coincidental). She does most of her writing on her deck surrounded by more animals than humans. Which is quite astonishing considering she’s a city girl who was plucked from the wilds of L.A. to the wilds of the Sierra’s. Most of her books come from a combination of hard work, cookies, and hot guy pics, and not necessarily in that order.

Jill often travels to reader weekends & conventions where she LOVES getting to meet and hang-out with readers. The only problem being she tends to get lost in her hotels. So if you ever see NYTimes Bestselling author Jill Shalvis roaming the halls, someone please return her immediately.


Connect with Jill
Facebook: @JillShalvis
Twitter: @JillShalvis


GIVEAWAY

Win One(1) Print Copy of Hot Winter Nights by Jill Shalvis
Open to US/CA Residents only
No P.O. Box Addresses
Giveaway sponsored by publisher
Please read my giveaway policy before entering.

Enter via Rafflecopter below



Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...